Baker’s Hours

July 4, 2009

4th of July & Hot Dogs

Hot Dog ContestToday, we celebrate the biggest holiday of the summer, and how do we commemorate the independence of our nation? That’s right… with the annual Nathan’s Famous 4th of July International Hot Dog eating contest.

Today, Joey Chestnut of San Jose, California defended his World Hot Dog Eating Championship by out gutting his competition (and I use the word loosely). Among the field of gluttonous competitors was former six-time champ Takeru Kobayashi of Nagano, Japan. Now I have as much American pride as the next guy, and I can appreciate it when an American beats a non-American in anything, but I just can’t really get too excited about Chestnut’s victory over Kobayashi.

Begin Rant:

In my opinion, this is !@?$ing ridiculous!!!!! This isn’t the first time that I have ranted about stupid non-sport events trying to pass themselves off as sports on tv (and it probably won’t be my last), but the World Hot Dog Eating Championships? Give me a !@?$ing break! I didn’t really mind it the first time they aired it. I still thought that it was supremely stupid that they were interviewing the contestants and discussing strategy as if it really mattered. What really has me earked is that they have been playing that stupid competition on ESPN for a week. You know how many times they replay real sporting events like the Superbowl, or a World Series game? ONCE! Maybe if we’re lucky, and there are special circumstances, like the Red Sox coming back from three games down to beat the Yankees in 2004, then we may get a repeat, but that’s it! Don’t get me wrong, I’m not taking anything away from Joey Chestnut. Eating 68 hot dogs in 10 minutes is something that I could never do (Not that I would even attempt such an act of idiocy for that matter), but I would much rather see a repeat of the Superbowl than a bunch of losers who’s only claim to fame is being able to stuff ludicrous amounts of food down their gullet.

Congratulations to Joey Chestnut. GO USA! And with that, I wish you all a fun and safe Independence Day.

Song stuck in my head at the time of this post: Crazy On You by Heart

2 Comments »

  1. LOL!!!

    Comment by Melissa — July 4, 2009 @ 1:10 pm

  2. LOL!!!

    Comment by Melissa — July 4, 2009 @ 1:10 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

