Baker’s Hours

May 11, 2009

Physical Therapy

Filed under: Personal Stuff — Admin @ 5:31 pm
Tags: , ,

smashed-handToday was my first day of physical therapy for my hand, and I kid you not, the therapist prescribed typing as part of my therapy. He said that typing helps articulate my fingers which in turn improves my range of motion. So, here I am, dutifully doing my therapy. If this entry doesn’t make sense it’s because my hand hurt like hell when I got home, so I popped a Vicodin.

When I first arrived at the clinic, there was (of course) the pre-requisite forms to fill out. A task that is even more exasperating considering that I can barely grip a pen. Its amazing to me how at every office and clinic I have had to visit since my accident, not one person has ever put it together in their head, “Hey, this guy doesn’t have the use of his right hand. Maybe he might need some help filling out these forms.” Then again, that might be too much to ask of the person working the front desk.

So, I finish chicken scratching my way through the forms, and the therapist proceeded to squeeze and bend my fingers. At one point, he had managed to force my fingers into a fist (Something I have not been able to do in weeks), and told me to open my hand, which I could not. By the end of my therapy session, I was able to sort of open and close my hand, but it is still no where near being back to normal.

It’s been 90 minutes since I finished my therapy, and my fingers have regained their rigidity. However, I have gained enough range of motion that I can in fact type a bit faster. My hand still hurts like hell, if not more than when I woke up this morning because of all the bending, stretching and contorting I had to do today, but it’s all part of the recovery process.

Hopefully I will be able to work out some of the scared tissue in my hand and alive some of the pressure on the nerves. At the moment, I only have partial sensation in my middle finger and my thumb, and I have no feeling at all in my index finger, which is an odd sensation as I type. I can feel the pressure I exert on the keys, but I only feel pins and needles. I also have no sense of temperature in my index finger. This is the main source of concern for my doctor and me. If I am not able differentiate hot of cold with my finger, it could prove hazardous considering that I work in a kitchen with hot surfaces everywhere. I could touch a hot pan and not even notice it until I see the burn marks on my finger, although I’m assuming that I would probably;y notice the smell of my burning flesh first. Lets just hope it doesn’t come to that.

Song stuck in my head at the time of this post: DVD Commentary by Joss Whedon

2 Comments »

  1. Yeesh, hope you’re seeing at least small daily signs of improvement.

    Very descriptive post, so much so that I can sort of imagine the physical pain, fear and frustration you’re experiencing. Take it easy and hang in there…

    Comment by pohaiplace — May 12, 2009 @ 7:23 am

  2. Yeesh, hope you’re seeing at least small daily signs of improvement.

    Very descriptive post, so much so that I can sort of imagine the physical pain, fear and frustration you’re experiencing. Take it easy and hang in there…

    Comment by pohaiplace — May 12, 2009 @ 7:23 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

