Baker’s Hours

April 20, 2009

Hawaii Geek Meet

Yesterday, I was fortunate enough to be able to rearrange my work schedule so that I could go to the Second Annual Hawaii Geek Meet at Magic Island in Ala Moana Park. Geeks from all over Hawaii gathered to enjoy the beautiful Hawaii weather, and there was definitely no lack of food at the pot luck event. Of course, being a baker, I brought cookies. I made my chocolate chip cookies that were a big hit at last year’s Podcamp, a peanut butter cookie recipe that I got while working at the Greenbrier, and an oatmeal cookie recipe that I have been playing around with. For the oatmeal, I added coconut, chocolate chips, dried cherries and rasins rehydrated in cherry juice and brandy. Next time I think I’ll try just cherries.

One thing that cracked me up was that even though the event was held in a park, that didn’t keep these geeks from bringing a generator for power, and wireless internet. Geek attendee Vernon Brown said it best, “It’s amazing that there are countries in the world without internet access, and we are on the internet at the park.”

Below are some photos I took while at the event, and you can view more pictures from the event at the Hawaii Geek Meet Flickr group.

Here is a video that my friend Arleen Anderson took at the event. I had a great time, and I look forward to next year’s Geek Meet.

 

 

 

Song stuck in my head at the time of this post: Bibidi Babidi Boo From Walt Disney’s Cinderella

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

