Baker’s Hours

March 25, 2009

Guacamole FAIL!

Filed under: Industry Watch,Review — Admin @ 2:15 am
Tags: , ,

guacamolewm

*Begin Rant* Now, I generally don’t let poor service or over cooked food bother me because having worked in this industry for so long, I can understand that there can be unforeseen things that can cause to poor service. Also, my complaining about minor things will not help the matter any, and re-firing food will just contribute to any sort of backlog in the kitchen. The way I look at it, if there is something that I don’t like, I just let it go. It’s not worth the effort to get worked up about it, but this thing really got under my skin.

I’m out with my sister and her boyfriend, and we decide to have dinner at Just Tacos in Mililani Town Center. The main reason why we were going there was because I was craving some guacamole. We arrive at the restaurant, and check out the menu. I look over the appetizer menu and find, “Table-side Guacamole.” This immediately created an image in my mind of the server bringing out a mixing bowl to the table, cutting the avocado at table side, and mixing it with lime juice, diced onions, tomatoes, and cilantro. Obviously, my idea of table side was different from Just Taco’s because instead, we get a plate with a mixture of diced onions, tomatoes and cilantro tossed with lime juice, and avocado PASTE! The friggin stuff looked like it came from a tube… or worse, a friggin can!

The fact that there was paste on the plate wasn’t what really bothered me. What did bother me was how they worded it on the menu. The term “Table-side” is a restaurant practice which involves the server making your food in front of you by your table. Aside from the entertainment aspect of it, this practice provides the customer with the freshest meal possible. Using this term is a clear violation of truth in menu, and is basically a case of bait and switch. They offered one thing, the expectation of table-side service of freshly made guacamole, and instead provided a substandard appetizer which sort of adhered to the the loosest of interpretations of the term.  So to you, Just Tacos, I have one word for you…

fail 

Song stuck in my head at the time of this post: After Midnight by Eric Clapton

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

