Baker’s Hours

March 11, 2009

Lunch at La Bamba

Recently, I went with a group of friends to a small hole in the wall Mexican restaurant on Kapahulu avenue called La Bamba. Like most restaurants on Kapahulu, parking was a bit of an issue. I was able to park across the street at Safeway, but even that parking lot can fill quickly around lunch time. When I arrived, the restaurant was empty, which was not a good sign, but it quickly filled as the lunch crowd trickled in. 

Chips and Salsa were provided upon being seated which was a tad on the wet side. However, the restaurant quickly started to get onto my good side when I ordered the Guacamole. It was by far the best guacamole I have ever had. The cleanly cut chucks were a clear indicator that it was just made, not the pureed mush that you get at other places.  

I ordered the Steak Carne Astada. The portion was huge with grilled steak, salad, more of that great guacamole, seasoned rice, refried beans and your choice of warm flour or corn tortillas. In my opinion, the best Mexican food I’ve every had in Hawaii. If you’re ever here on Vacation, be sure to check it out!

 
Song stuck in my head at the time of this post: My Immortal by Evanesence (live version where the crowd sings along)

1 Comment »

  1. Met Vern Brown of 808Talk.com at La Bamba for dinner last week while we were on island. We live in a 60% Hispanic area near Chicago and get plenty of authentic Mexican food. I liked the salsa with a bit of kick but not too much. I had a potato enchilada with beans and rice. They offer several vegetarian option. BYOB too.

    Comment by April M. Williams — March 12, 2009 @ 5:35 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

