Baker’s Hours

February 20, 2009

Scientist Move Closer To Curing Nut Allergies

Filed under: Industry Watch — Admin @ 1:02 am
Tags: ,

peanutsSo, I’m laying in bed trying to go to sleep because I have to wake up in four hours to get ready for work. I’m one of those people who need some sort of white noise in the background when I sleep. I always chalked it up to the fact that I’m partially deaf so I have a latent fear of silence. I just find it unnerving if it’s too quiet. Anyway, I have NPR streaming from my computer which is currently playing news from the BBC. I usually tune it out as I try to fall asleep, but a story came on that caught my ear. It obviously peaked my interest because I’m blogging about it right now.

Apparently, Clinical trials in the UK have produced results in helping people with nut allergies. Fortunately for me, I am not one of those poor bastards who are allergic to nuts, but as someone who has to constantly be aware of nut allergies in my job, I find this amazing! I hop (yes I literally hopped) out of bed and did a quick google search. 

Similar to how my grandmother cured me of my lactose intolerance as a child, scientists would give children daily servings of yogurt mixed with a small amount of peanut flour so that their bodies could build up a tolerance to nuts. By the end of the trials, each child could eat at least 10 peanuts before showing any sort of reaction. Granted they were not completely cured, but the tolerance that they had acquired was good enough to protect them from accidental exposure to nuts. 

I can see how this can give hope to people all over the world who must constantly be aware of what they are eating for fear or accidentally ingesting something with nuts in it. In particular, vegetarians and vegans for whom nuts are one of their primary sources of protein. 

 

Song stuck in my head at the time of this post: My Father’s Gun by Elton John

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

