Baker’s Hours

December 19, 2008

Great Dessert: Gazen Izakaya's Sweet Potato Mochi

Sweet Potato Mochi with Earl Grey Sauce and Vanilla Ice Cream

Sweet Potato Mochi with Earl Grey Sauce and Vanilla Ice Cream. Photo by Melissa Chang of Metromix.com

I mentioned a few days ago in a previous post that I was selected by metromix.com to participate in a restaurant review of Gazen Izakaya. While there, I was pleasantly surprised to find this terrific dessert. Granted, Mochi is an acquired taste, and many people are turned off by its gooey goodness. But if you enjoy Mochi, then you have to give this dessert a try. 

When I first saw this dessert on the menu, I reminisced on the chalky texture of other potato mochis’ that I have tried. However the negative misconceptions I had all disappeared after my first bite. The outside was lightly grilled and had just the right amount of crispiness, and the soft ice cream offered a nice contrast to warm grilled mochi. 

However, it was when I got to the chewy center, that I was pleasantly surprised to discover that it was not chalky at all. It had the prefect mochi consistency, and just the right amount of sweetness. Not over the top sweet, which is a real turn off for me when it comes to desserts. My only complaint about this dessert is that I couldn’t taste the Earl Grey sauce. It was completely lost in this dish, but the rest of the dessert more than made up for it. If you ever dine at Gazen Izakaya, make sure that you give the Sweet Potato Mochi a try.

You can read more of what I thought about the rest of the dinner, and everyone else’s comments in Melissa Chang’s review at Metromix.com. 

 

Song stuck in my head at the time of this post: This Is How We Do It by New Edition

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

