Baker’s Hours

November 5, 2008

Pumpkin Cake Recipe

Filed under: Baking Tips,Recipes — Admin @ 2:12 am
Tags: , , , , ,

We are officially in November which means that I can officially offer you my seasons greetings. One of my favorite things about the holidays are the smells. In my opinion, the holiday season by far has the best smells of any time of the year. Spices like Cinnamon, Ginger, Nutmeg, and Cloves permeate every bake shop at this time of the year. Ever since I took my first baking class, the smell of “holiday spices” was my first indicator that the holiday season had begun.

Not wanting to miss the opportunity to get the season started, I ordered a case of Pumpkin on Oct. 31, and baked my first batch of Pumpkin cake on November 1st. I opened the oven, and that spiced smell blew into my face. The holidays are here, and to commemorate the start of the holidays, I’ve decided to share my pumpkin cake recipe.

Pumpkin Cake: Yield – 2 10″ cakes

  • 10 each                          Whole Eggs
  • 2 # 8 oz.                        Granulated Sugar
  • 1 # 4 oz.                        Cake Flour
  • 2 T                                Salt
  • 2 T                                Baking Soda
  • 2 T                                Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp.                             All Spice
  • 1/2 tsp                           Ginger
  • 1 Cup                             Macadamia Nuts
  • 2 1/2 Cups                      Oil
  • 5 Cups                            Canned Pumpkin

Procedure:

  1. Combine eggs and sugar in mixing bowl. Blend well.
  2. Combine flour, salt, baking soda, and spices together with nuts. (adding the nuts to the dry ingredients will help prevent them from clumping up in the batter)
  3. Add dry ingredients and nuts to egg mixture. Blend well, stopping occasionally to scrape down the sides of the bowl.
  4. Slowly add oil to mixture, stopping occasionally to scrape down the sides of the bowl.
  5. Add pumpkin to mix, and blend well. 
  6. Divide batter into two greased baking pans. 
  7. Bake in 350º F oven for 45-55 minutes, or until an inserted knife can be removed  cleanly.

Notes:

A mixer is not needed for this recipe. You can easily mix this batter together with a whisk in a large mixing bowl.

Once the cake has cooled I cut the cake into three layers, brush each layer with maple syrup (thinned out with a little bit of water) and fill it with Maple whipped cream. 

Maple Whipped Cream:

  • 2 Cups      Heavy Cream
  • 1 Cup       Powdered Sugar
  • 1 tsp.       Vanilla Extract
  • 1/2 Cup    Maple Syrup

Procedure:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a mixer and whip on high until stiff.

This is one of my favorite recipes, and I hope that you and your family enjoy it. 

 

Song stuck in my head at the time of this post: Baby Come Back by Player

1 Comment »

  1. Yummy!! My mouth is watering after reading this. 😀

    Comment by Daynah — November 5, 2008 @ 9:02 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

